Trust: a loaded word

Websters dictionary defines trust as the: “firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something”. What if doesn’t say in the definition is that trust is easy until it’s broken and then it seems nearly impossible to get back.

I want to be better at trusting people who have burned me. I want to be able to believe that someone is sincere when they apologize for a mistake and tell me they regret it. I do not want to go through life full of resentment and hate. It’s not a good feeling and it’s contagious. I’ve started to doubt other people close to me because of it and that is crazy.

At the end of the day, you choose to be disappointed when someone lies to you, you choose to hold the grudge and you have the choice not to let their actions reflect upon you when really they just reflect poorly on them.

I think my best bet is to treat it like a court. I will consider people innocent until proven guilty so to speak. If someone tells me they are going to something I am going to believe them.

Instead of worrying that people will break their word or their promise for change/action, I will trust that they are dealing with it as best they can. It may not be the way I would have dealt with it but we are all different so it’s not place to judge and it’s a waste of my energy to stress.

The key to being happy is to do you, be true to you and focus on you.

If you’re keeping your promise, I’m keeping mine.

Den Xo

This entry was posted in General, Judas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

